top of page
Search

Moving Forward

Last night was the first of the southbury green film series viewings. Working with Sustainable Southbury, one goal of my outreach initiative is to promote the ideals of sustainably and green films. I was really excited that it turned out so well, a lot of people came in my town as well as some kids from my school. I think a lot people were impacted by the panelists because they asked a lot of questions and gave their own input.

I was also able to catch up with my mentors because we planned the film festival together. We were able to move forward on the next of the film series viewing, Chuck Litty also sent me a lunchroom guide for our school to follow on preventing waste. It will also be helpful in the food waste portion of my green book. I started my green book and I think the biggest struggle is knowing where to start. I have all these ideas and research but I have been a little scatterbrained with organizing it. I created a template this week and I'm feeling better about working though it. I didn't think it was possible but I just get more and more excited with the progress of my project. The film made me feel really good about moving forward and making an impact in my community in the beginnings of my capstone project. My friends came to the film as well and have been interested in taking part of a lot of the sustainable work I have been doing this year. It makes me really happy to be working with others. I'm doing my capstone project by a special studies class during a different period then the other kids at my school, but my friend and I have been working together on our projects and its been really helpful. Mutual support has made the process less stressful. I also thought not being in the class would be weird but I have still got the chance to meet new kids who have helped me with the Skills 21 process and to hear everyone's ideas. Moving forward, I'm excited and ready for the next steps for my project!! #collaboration #communication #outreach #community #motivation #excitement


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page